Welcome to OnyxTalk - Global Support Community, please Login or Create an account to get full access to the forums.
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Print multiple PDFs without opening Acrobat?

Offline jonkovach Posted 07-10-2009 - 09:42 AM
Post: #1
Senior Member
293 Posts
Senior Member

Onyx Version:
X10
Printer(s):
HP 5500 (2) HP z6100 (3)

Does anyone know how to select multiple PDF files in Finder (on a Mac) and just send them to a networked printer? I have a lot of PDFs that I don't want to have to open each one to print them all... it would be much easier to just option click on the files and say Print....
I created an Automator task, but to no avail.... I might have set it up wrong, though, who knows.
Thanks,
Jon
(This post was last modified: 07-10-2009 09:45 AM by daveh.)

He who limps is still walking.
~Stanislaw J. Lec

Back to top Find Quote
Offline virtu Posted 07-11-2009 - 02:25 AM
Post: #2
Frequent Flyer
114 Posts
Frequent Flyer

Onyx Version:
10.2.5
Printer(s):
Spuhl virtu RS-35, Canon ipf9100, HP5000, RS-640

Not sure, but isnt it enough to pull the pdf on the printer icon?
Back to top Find Quote
Offline jonkovach Posted 07-13-2009 - 04:47 AM
Post: #3
Senior Member
293 Posts
Senior Member

Onyx Version:
X10
Printer(s):
HP 5500 (2) HP z6100 (3)

Never knew you could do that!
Now, is there a way to make it automatically scale PDFs to fit the page? I have a PDF that is 24" x 36", and I want to print it on 8.5" x 11" paper. I know how to do that through Acrobat, but when you drag and drop - I don't see that option anywhere...

He who limps is still walking.
~Stanislaw J. Lec

Back to top Find Quote
Offline virtu Posted 07-13-2009 - 04:50 AM
Post: #4
Frequent Flyer
114 Posts
Frequent Flyer

Onyx Version:
10.2.5
Printer(s):
Spuhl virtu RS-35, Canon ipf9100, HP5000, RS-640

i just tested it here at work. open the printer que and drop the files into the que. The pdfs are printed with your standart settings. if you need special settings like 8.5"x11" then you should set it as standart and it should work.
Back to top Find Quote
Offline jonkovach Posted 07-13-2009 - 04:59 AM
Post: #5
Senior Member
293 Posts
Senior Member

Onyx Version:
X10
Printer(s):
HP 5500 (2) HP z6100 (3)

I have "fit to printable area" set as a standard setting in Acrobat, but it is printing the PDF at 100%. Should I be setting it somewhere else?

He who limps is still walking.
~Stanislaw J. Lec

Back to top Find Quote
Offline virtu Posted 07-14-2009 - 06:13 AM
Post: #6
Frequent Flyer
114 Posts
Frequent Flyer

Onyx Version:
10.2.5
Printer(s):
Spuhl virtu RS-35, Canon ipf9100, HP5000, RS-640

Hey,

Well, 1 option is to merge all the PDFs you wanna print, then you can send 1 file and dont have to send x files.
Hope that helps.

virtu
Back to top Find Quote
Offline jonkovach Posted 07-14-2009 - 06:14 AM
Post: #7
Senior Member
293 Posts
Senior Member

Onyx Version:
X10
Printer(s):
HP 5500 (2) HP z6100 (3)

Yeah, that's what I've been doing... just takes more time/steps than I was hoping for.
Oh well - thanks for your help. I definitely learned something!

He who limps is still walking.
~Stanislaw J. Lec

Back to top Find Quote
Offline virtu Posted 07-14-2009 - 09:03 AM
Post: #8
Frequent Flyer
114 Posts
Frequent Flyer

Onyx Version:
10.2.5
Printer(s):
Spuhl virtu RS-35, Canon ipf9100, HP5000, RS-640

Hello John,

Another option is:
You can make an Hotfolder with Acrobat , then drop the PDFs to the Hotfolder and it prints. A friend told me that, i tried it and it almost works for me. I dropped some pdfs to the folder then had to call the action in acrobat. I'll ask him again.

I also have to print PDFs scaled to my paper, wanna automate that but never really had time to have a deeper look into it.

virtu
Back to top Find Quote



User(s) browsing this thread
1 Guest(s)
myRepono - Website & mySQL Database Backup Service
Community software by MyBB