Welcome to OnyxTalk - Global Support Community, please Login or Create an account to get full access to the forums.
 
Thread Rating:
  • 1 Votes - 2 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Layout Tool Fails to run

Offline Oscar Posted 12-16-2010 - 12:22 PM
Post: #1
Member
5 Posts
Member

Onyx Version:
7.3.2.16
Printer(s):
Mutoh VJ 1604

Hi,

I've been using the layout tool with no problems until yesterday when it suddenly failed to run. When the I tried to run the application it gets stock at the loading stage and it just hangs there.
I have only tried the following (as per Onyx support web site):

"...go to the /ONYX/Settings/JobManagerData directory, and delete the settings file. Go to the Windows Task Manager, Processes tab, select the xrip.exe process, and then choose End Process. This will clear the error so you can launch the Layout Tool."

Any advise would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

Oscar.
Back to top Find Quote
Offline Scott Posted 12-17-2010 - 06:25 AM
Post: #2
OnyxTalk Admin
559 Posts
OnyxTalk Admin

Onyx Version:
N/A
Printer(s):
N/A

...and I'm assuming following their instructions did not solve the problem?

Scott Manwaring / Administrator
OnyxTalk.com - Global Support Community
Back to top WWW Find Quote
Offline Oscar Posted 12-22-2010 - 08:10 AM
Post: #3
Member
5 Posts
Member

Onyx Version:
7.3.2.16
Printer(s):
Mutoh VJ 1604

(12-17-2010 06:25 AM)Scott Wrote:  ...and I'm assuming following their instructions did not solve the problem?

That is correct. Their instructions did not solve the problem.
Back to top Find Quote
Offline Scott Posted 12-24-2010 - 11:08 AM
Post: #4
OnyxTalk Admin
559 Posts
OnyxTalk Admin

Onyx Version:
N/A
Printer(s):
N/A

Any updates? I also see a post that is related to Layout Tool not opening due to an issues with the Java Runtime Engine. Here is what it says...

Onyx Knowledgebase Wrote:Media Manager, CutServer and the Layout tool use the Java Runtime Engine. When you do a new installation or an upgrade or repair, some of the necessary JRE support files may not get updated properly. This can cause the programs not to load. If you open Task Manager, under the Process tab you can see the processes are running, however their percentage of CPU usage is zero.

To avoid this problem, restart your computer before installing or running an upgrade or repair. Restarting the computer should allow the needed dll files to update properly.

To resolve the issue on an existing installation, remove the VENDOR folders located in the \ONYX\, \ONYX\CUTServer\, |ONYX\MediaManager\, and \ONYX\XRip\ folders. Also, delete the contents of the \ONYX\SETTINGS\ folder. Restart your computer and do a repair installation of ONYX to restore the Vendor folders. Make sure no other applications are running at the time and disable your antivirus application before performing the update.

Scott Manwaring / Administrator
OnyxTalk.com - Global Support Community
Back to top WWW Find Quote
Offline ryan Posted 02-01-2011 - 02:10 AM
Post: #5
Member
1 Posts
Member

Onyx Version:
7.3.2
Printer(s):
hp l25500

scott
i have tried to do what you have described it worked once and now i have the problem again and it will not fix it. i can open the layout tool but when i add a image it will not show up. i am using windows 7 and onyx 7.3.2 i have 2 hp l25500 and find this tool really use full when it works. would you know how to fix this problem?
Back to top Find Quote
Offline blindbrain Posted 03-23-2011 - 05:46 AM
Post: #6
Member
2 Posts
Member

Onyx Version:
X10
Printer(s):
Epson4000

We see the same problem here at a German customer.
He even tried to install X10 on 8!!! PC´s with Win XP-32bit, Win-7-32bit and Win-7-64-bit.

On all Systems same behaviour: Everything runs apart of Layout Tool.
We erased all the recommended folders, restarted and repaired but no change.

I never had this problem anywhere else and can´t help the customer at the moment. I am yet wondering if it has to do something with the dongle (which is unlogical - but what else could it be???)

regards

Rafael

EDIT: Finally it WAS the Dongle. It was just a temporary dongle (old parallel dongle exchange) and when the final keyfile came... Layout Tool started up again
(This post was last modified: 05-20-2011 06:13 AM by blindbrain.)
Back to top Find Quote
Offline benni313 Posted 07-15-2011 - 06:22 AM
Post: #7
Member
1 Posts
Member

Onyx Version:
Postershop X10
Printer(s):
OCE 9060

Hi,

I have a similar problem with the on X10. When I tried to open or save a job in the Layout Tool, the program crashes. It simply closes itself :-o
Drag a file directly from a folder in the Layout Tool via drag&drop works fine. This would be ok, but it would be very important to save my jobs!!

X10 runs on a 64bit Win7 system and otherwise I have no problems.

Can anybody help me??

best regards
Benni
(This post was last modified: 07-15-2011 09:03 AM by benni313.)
Back to top Find Quote
Offline Ford Prefect Posted 07-28-2011 - 05:16 AM
Post: #8
Member
27 Posts
Member

Onyx Version:
X10.1
Printer(s):
Canon, HP, Epson

I ran into this before. I had to delete everything within the Onyx\Settings folder, then Layout Tool launched. It appears there could be two causes, one is the solution they have and the second is a corrupt setting in the Settings folder. Try wiping everything in that folder and try again. It does erase the color device and cutters you have setup in Media Manager and CutServer though.
Back to top Find Quote
Offline peter_tsg Posted 09-23-2011 - 06:31 AM
Post: #9
Member
1 Posts
Member

Onyx Version:
10.1
Printer(s):
Mutoh, Oce, Epson

We are having a similar problem with a customer here. Their layout tool seems to be having alot of trouble and I have uninstalled and repaired Onyx several times. I have also gone into some of those folders in the onyx folder on the hard drive and changes some of the values in in bin folders. I have also wiped out the settings folder restarted, repaired, restarted and launched the layout tool to find that it still crashes with no warnings.

The last thing i tried was within the xrip folder there is a error.log file. This file notified be that there were some corupt settings with regards to some profiles. As soon as i took those profiles out the layout tool stopped crashing.... But now i get a "there was an error durring printing" error reading.


Attached File(s) Thumbnail(s)
   

.txt  error.txt (Size: 1.56 KB / Downloads: 1)
Back to top Find Quote


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Layout tool - color problem white lake 3 332 07-02-2014 02:29 PM
Last Post: b-man
  Layout Tool Issue on Postershop paksta 1 618 04-10-2014 11:30 PM
Last Post: teesol
  Layout tool and Spot layers Neb 0 230 02-11-2014 06:54 AM
Last Post: Neb
  Layout Tool Fotoba Marks jasonx 4 1,493 08-09-2013 01:29 PM
Last Post: Ozprint
  Layout Tool - Multiple PDF's & Cut Lines blomsma 0 388 03-25-2013 07:32 AM
Last Post: blomsma
  Black Thumbnail/Print when using Layout Tool joecolor 2 413 03-05-2013 03:00 AM
Last Post: walter_cfl
  Layout tool- outline marks Rozkop 0 536 08-28-2012 03:38 AM
Last Post: Rozkop
  Layout Tool acting funny insignia 0 825 04-15-2012 12:50 PM
Last Post: insignia
  Layout Tool will not boot Sander 4 1,905 02-17-2008 10:03 AM
Last Post: Sander


User(s) browsing this thread
1 Guest(s)
myRepono - Website & mySQL Database Backup Service
Community software by MyBB