Welcome to OnyxTalk - Global Support Community, please Login or Create an account to get full access to the forums.
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Large Prints alwys stopping 3/4 way through

Offline MassiveGraphics Posted 10-30-2006 - 06:05 AM
Post: #1
Member
17 Posts
Member

Onyx Version:

Printer(s):


I think I've heard a few people saying that they've had some prints stop before they were completed.
I've had it happen before on a couple occasions most recently Last week. I was print a 8' tradeshow booth on my HP, on the 4th panel it stopped anout 1/3rd of the way down. I think that RIP file actually crashed becasue I was printing on 8-pass mode and the printer finished all of its passes before it stopped, it didn't just stop leaving the passes unfinished.


Anyway kinda of annoying I think it's happend about 4 times now always on large jobs. I'n not a big fan of reprinting TS Booth panels due to color/registration shifts.
Back to top Find Quote
Offline Scott Posted 10-30-2006 - 06:34 AM
Post: #2
OnyxTalk Admin
563 Posts
OnyxTalk Admin

Onyx Version:
N/A
Printer(s):
N/A

Does this happen on all of your printers or is the HP the only one?

I haven't personally had this issue on any of my jobs or printers...

Scott Manwaring / Administrator
OnyxTalk.com - Global Support Community
Back to top WWW Find Quote
Offline MassiveGraphics Posted 10-30-2006 - 12:47 PM
Post: #3
Member
17 Posts
Member

Onyx Version:

Printer(s):


Seems to only happen to the HP so far. Although I haven't printed anything that big on the Mimaki, nothing that was 8' to 10' and tiled using production house
Back to top Find Quote
Offline bigbly Posted 10-30-2006 - 04:23 PM
Post: #4
Member
37 Posts
Member

Onyx Version:
10.1
Printer(s):
Roland Soljet III x 2, HP5500, HP L25500

what version you on?
I used to have that issue with my HPs.. there's a thing where if the print job is too long it'll cut off.
with 6.5 on long runs you can see in the rip queue placement preview it'll stop and start the printer at a certain point.
Also you can try turning off the "print all rows at a time" option in placement strategy, think thats better anyway on the HPs cos it makes the printer stop and do a printhead check between rows.
Back to top WWW Find Quote
Offline MassiveGraphics Posted 10-31-2006 - 10:21 AM
Post: #5
Member
17 Posts
Member

Onyx Version:

Printer(s):


I'm running Procduction house 7.0

I'll check the Rip Queue next time to see if i can see if the last panel is smaller
Back to top Find Quote
Offline MassiveGraphics Posted 01-04-2007 - 08:26 AM
Post: #6
Member
17 Posts
Member

Onyx Version:

Printer(s):


happend again today.. 10' trade show booth,, panel #5 stopped about 6" from the bottom, the printer tne proceeded to scroll forward the media it would have used to print the rest of the booth!

Grr..
I still haven't updated to the newer version so I'll wait and see if that helps
Back to top Find Quote
Offline Scott Posted 01-09-2007 - 12:02 AM
Post: #7
OnyxTalk Admin
563 Posts
OnyxTalk Admin

Onyx Version:
N/A
Printer(s):
N/A

Man, how frustrating...

Scott Manwaring / Administrator
OnyxTalk.com - Global Support Community
Back to top WWW Find Quote
Offline MassiveGraphics Posted 01-17-2007 - 12:54 PM
Post: #8
Member
17 Posts
Member

Onyx Version:

Printer(s):


Wierd thought because today I printed a Booth the same size and it didn't, i was so worried it was going to because it took almost 2 1/2 hrs to rip, I didn't want to have to rip it again for 2 panels.

ohwell I have another one to do tomorrow we'll see.
Back to top Find Quote
Offline torpedo Posted 09-05-2007 - 05:23 AM
Post: #9
Member
3 Posts
Member

Onyx Version:

Printer(s):


I've just found this forum so I'm probably a bit late to throw in something. I'm not sure whether you guys've already found a way to fix this.

This issue has been very annoying to me too. I couldn't print anything longer than 20-30 feet depending on luck (sometimes I could, most of the time I couldn't). I tried the following method and it works quite successfully.

Bring up your HP DSJ CD. Most people never use or even know it exists. This CD is basically to create Windows printer driver. Run the setup and install the printer according to your model. There's a part that's tricky in the installation process, though, but you should be able to do it. Once you get the printer shows up in Windows, set ONYX to print to this Windows printer instead of print directly to TCP/IP.

This way you can set up the driver to spool the print job, thus makes ONYX finishes printing the file much faster. You have to keep watching your HD space, though, as the spooled files take quite a bit of storage.

I once in a while print job that's longer than 30'. The longest I successfully did was about 40'. This method is not guaranteed to work 100% of the time, though. I still have problem with some files once in a while, even the files are shorter that what I use to successfully printed before.

This's the problem that most everyone who prints long file must encounter, yet I can't find any official workaround from ONYX or HP.

Anybody has another workaround?
Back to top Find Quote
Offline Hotspur Posted 09-08-2007 - 02:25 AM
Post: #10
Frequent Flyer
173 Posts
Frequent Flyer

Onyx Version:
To Infinity & Beyond
Printer(s):
HPZ Latex UV Mutoh Canon Summa

You are using port <9100> I assume?

If you use RAW there will be a data limit - Onyx should take off the guidance to use RAW for HPs on the dialogue.

Also postscripted files have a maximum size - the Jaws engine has a limit on the number of PS lines that can exist in a file.

You sometimes (not always!) get a message saying you need to reduce your image by a factor of "x" 2 or 3 is usual.

To get around this you can reduce the dpi of your image or turn on pixel duplication in the quickset under "two stage processing", using the number from the error message.

See here for more info:

http://www.onyxgfx.com/kb.pl?cmd=view&kbid=124
Back to top Find Quote
Offline torpedo Posted 09-20-2007 - 10:12 AM
Post: #11
Member
3 Posts
Member

Onyx Version:

Printer(s):


I always use port 9100 but still have this problem.

I also have the same problem with Mutoh ValueJet. The longest I can do is about 30+ ft. I've contacted Mutoh Japan and they said there shouldn't be any limitation on the length. They recommended me to try another RIP, which I really don't want to.

I've tried to fix this problem for many years. Onyx tech people always said something about the network. I've tried using only 2 ports (ONYX PC & printer) on the switching hub. I've tried using cross-over cable between RIP and printer. None of them really works.
Back to top Find Quote
Offline Scott Posted 09-20-2007 - 10:29 AM
Post: #12
OnyxTalk Admin
563 Posts
OnyxTalk Admin

Onyx Version:
N/A
Printer(s):
N/A

My supplier down in Vegas told me that they are having this same exact problem with their HP and have wasted a TON of material in the process. This is obviously a huge problem in my opinion and Onyx really should look into it. One person may be a fluke, but if it's happening to multiple people then it's an issue worth investigating. I would imagine it to be more driver related than Rip-Queue related, but you never know.

I'm going to pester some of the people I know and see if I can get any insight.

Scott Manwaring / Administrator
OnyxTalk.com - Global Support Community
Back to top WWW Find Quote
Offline Natallica Posted 07-22-2008 - 06:56 AM
Post: #13
Member
2 Posts
Member

Onyx Version:

Printer(s):


I had the exact same issue:
Each time I try to print and image that exceeds an overall length of approx. 30', whether it's one image (eg. banner) or a series of tiled images (eg. trailer wrap graphics) I keep getting a vague error in the console that just says, "*** HP DesignJet 5500 Info : Print Data Error...Print Aborted!. and then the printer will advance the media forward to the end of the print, without printing any thing else.
This has happened very frequently and is attributing to alot of wasted media. If there are any ideas that can help me resolve this issue, I would be very appreciative.

Any assistance you may be able to provide would be great.

Here is their answer, once I changed it, I haven't had the problem since:

Quote:What port settings have you selected for this printer? Highlight Printer / Configure Printer / Device / Configure Port / Configure......Using the drop down select Port <9100> this should fix the issue.

Regards,

George Owen
Software Support
Onyx Graphics Inc.
I hope this helps someone, I was glad that it fixed the problem.
Back to top Find Quote
Offline gjmonn Posted 07-23-2008 - 05:35 AM
Post: #14
Member
5 Posts
Member

Onyx Version:

Printer(s):


We have had the same problem on a HP5500, check the network card on the HP, or it could be the HP inbuilt hard drive
Back to top Find Quote
Offline SWCL Posted 07-25-2008 - 12:12 AM
Post: #15
Member
78 Posts
Member

Onyx Version:
Production House v7.3.2
Printer(s):
HP DJ5000, Epson 9600, Mimaki JV3-160s Ultra

Copied from my post on printingdigital.net..

*********

I'm sure it had something to do with the settings in the printers & faxes part of the Control Panel in windows - not web ui, or Onyx... IIRC it worked last time it ticked the box or whatever it was...

But I cannot for the life of me remember waht the setting was & I cant find the info on the web!


*edit*

It also appears I cannot turn off the que facility on my HP5000 (which is doing the exact same thing!)


Some info here..
http://h41186.www4.hp.com/country/us/en/...g_id=79748

More here... but this has not worked
http://www.onyxgfx.com/kb.pl?cmd=view&kbid=188


more
http://www.onyxgfx.com/kb.pl?cmd=view&kbid=141

*************

OK, fixed mine using the info I posted above.

Just finished sucsesfully printing a 5m wide x 3m high 1.5gig image - in 5 1m wide tiles.. 20mm overlaps, printed back to back.. first time its done this for a while!

Anyway.. my settings are as follows:


Rip - Onyx Production House v7.0.6

Settings in red may or may not be required (I'll turn it off & see it it still works)

Configure printer > Quick Sets tab (select quick set) > edit

Advanced Tab > Postscript Tab > Check (tick) two stage processing > Pixel duplication = 2

Configure printer > Device tab > configure port

Port = tcp/ip printer

Configure Button >
host name or ip = 192.168.0.xxx > test = valid IP
port = <port9100>


Windows XP - printer settings

Start > Control Panel > Printers & Faxes

Right click on virtual printer *Your printer name here 7x* (7x = v.7 printer)

Select properties > ports tab > printer should be automatically highlighted

Port should be IP address given to printer

Description should be 'Standard tcp/ip port'

Click configure port

Port name = IP_192.168.0.xxx
Printer name or IP = 192.168.0.xxx (as above without IP_ at start)
Protocol = Raw
Port number = 9100
SNMP not enabled

Under configure port - Enable printer pooling is NOT enabled

Advanced tab >

Always available = check
Priority = 1
Driver = *Your printer name here* 7x.....
Print directly to the printer = check (this will uncheck 'spool print docs so prog finishes faster')

Probably no need to double check this but > print processor button
print processor = WinPrint
Default data type = RAW


That should be it - that will configure your setup the same as mine - which works with the HP DJ5000.

From what I can tell on the info on the net, most modern HP's will work the same way, so Z6100 'should' be the same.

*********

Now using 7.1 - AFAIK no issues any more.

p.s. Two stage processing is now switched off & it still seems to work fine Wink

Hope that helps.
(This post was last modified: 07-25-2008 12:57 AM by electricfly.)
Back to top WWW Find Quote
Offline Hotspur Posted 07-28-2008 - 04:04 AM
Post: #16
Frequent Flyer
173 Posts
Frequent Flyer

Onyx Version:
To Infinity & Beyond
Printer(s):
HPZ Latex UV Mutoh Canon Summa

OK I'll repeat the issues:
HPz6100 - you have to turn off the queue on the printer itself or you will quickly fill the printers memory with data and it will fall over after just a few metres of print.
ALL HPs you need to use port 9100 or again you will hit another data limit, unless you are using the HP printservers where you need to use RAW.
For ALL printers there is a data limit due to the Jaws RIP Onyx uses. This is 500 000 PS lines and all of the above examples sound in this territory.
To get around this limit you need to lower your dpi or start using Pixel duplication as above. This will lower the number of PS lines in use and give you a longer print - but there will still be a limit - hopefully you will have enough headroom.
You will all be pleased to know that for 7.2 Jaws have taken off the limit - there will no longer be any restriction on print length in Onyx from 7.2 onwards.
Back to top Find Quote
Offline jesse Posted 09-28-2008 - 04:28 PM
Post: #17
Member
17 Posts
Member

Onyx Version:

Printer(s):


This is happening to me and it's driving me nuts. It happens halfway thru any print. 4' into an 8' print, 3' into a 6' print, etc...

Yeah, I'm on port9100.

I just updated to 7.2 and reinstalled the HP5500 driver, and it didn't fix the issue.

ProductionHouse 7.2.?, HP 5500ps, Two HP Z6100 60ps's, i1XT, ProfileMaker 5.0.8
Back to top Find Quote
Offline bellevuefineart Posted 06-23-2009 - 07:48 AM
Post: #18
Member
27 Posts
Member

Onyx Version:
7.3
Printer(s):
Epson 9800

This happens to me too on an Epson 9800 on TCP/IP. Drives me crazy. I cannot print large prints on that using Onyx, which of course completely defeats the purpose of having a professional RIP. Anything beyond 4 feet and I print directly from Photoshop or Onyx will trash the print by stopping 2 to 4 inches from the end. I'm using Onyx 7.1 now.
Back to top Find Quote
Offline Photoman Posted 05-31-2010 - 03:33 PM
Post: #19
Member
12 Posts
Member

Onyx Version:
ProductionHouse7.3.2
Printer(s):
Epson 9880, HP 5500

Hi guys,
Well i am now having the same issue on my 9880 and Onyx 7.3.2, tcpip, tried the raw and escp2 ports.
Im printing a 41"x55" banner due tomorrow (lucky me!) and im running out of ink and media. Im already over cost on this thanks to onyx.
Its stopping a few inches from the end and im about ready to loose it.

Do i now have to connect the printer via USB? or will pixel duplication work? I can only afford another print then i loose the client.
Any help would be greatly appreciated as i know Onyx support is useless as they have been over the years and i bet nothing will change.
Onyx has proven over the years that they are a problem and will not support their user base. Really what gives?

Thanks,
Ian
Back to top WWW Find Quote
Offline Photoman Posted 06-04-2010 - 04:35 PM
Post: #20
Member
12 Posts
Member

Onyx Version:
ProductionHouse7.3.2
Printer(s):
Epson 9880, HP 5500

Update on my misery!
I spoke with Onyx!, they were very helpful and gave me some good tips.
It seems that newer Epson printers use port <9100> and not escpt2 or raw ports as described in the Onyx tech notes.
He said with rip version 7.3.2 and port <9100>, the 500,000 line limit is removed and the print should not stop after 48".
I did figure out with the help of the posts above and elsewhere that if i reduce the file to 150dpi from 300dpi and use a lower res (720), it would fully print.
Although i did notice a small quality change, it was acceptable for this job. Hopefully i will have the chance to test the new port on the 1440dpi setting and with a 300dpi file.

Another issue i ran into was when i decided to do a fresh install on a new machine. I received an error when i opened any of the Onyx application.
The error stated that the key had expired and this was an OEM version, i didn't have the correct permissions on my key to use it.
Onyx mentioned that:
1. This has to do with the age of my usb dongle. Its from version 6 i think and he recommended that it be replaced at some point.
2. On a fresh install, 2 files did not install correctly or were eaten by my anti virus.
The fix is very simple, from a current installed and working version of Onyx, copy these 2 files product.bcs & product.tmi
from the Onyx>Common folder of the good rip to the Onyx>Common folder of the new installation.

Hope this helps anyone that runs into these problems.
Ian Mazursky
Back to top WWW Find Quote
Offline Megacop Posted 07-15-2010 - 12:14 AM
Post: #21
Member
1 Posts
Member

Onyx Version:
7.3.2
Printer(s):
Canon IPF8000S

Hi!

Having the similar problem, but still a little different. The trouble started upon installment of new working machine with Win 7 Professional 64-bit edition. Using ProductionHouse 7.3.2 with the latest patch, connected with Canon IPF8000S printer, I don't have problems with long prints in one piece. For example, I can print poster up to 2m (6.5 feet) with no sweat. But when it comes to multiple smaller files, there the problem begins. Almost continuously with rare, rare exceptions, printers stops at around 1,4 maybe 1,5m (4.5 feet). I believe there must be some problem with WIN7-PH (ProductionHouse) compatibility. I have checked all the configurations of PH on my previous PC, checked all the suggestion mentioned in posts above, firewall disabled, network is working without any loses or delays.
Back to top Find Quote
Offline PDC Large format Posted 06-21-2011 - 06:47 AM
Post: #22
Member
2 Posts
Member

Onyx Version:
7
Printer(s):
hp 5500

We are having problems printing a 6metre long banner, the HP5500 keeps cutting out right near the end! Anyone have any ideas?
(This post was last modified: 06-21-2011 09:51 AM by PDC Large format.)
Back to top Find Quote
Offline Diverscott Posted 07-26-2012 - 06:06 AM
Post: #23
Member
2 Posts
Member

Onyx Version:
Production House 7.3.2.16
Printer(s):
CET Color FK512

We were having this problem daily, but decided to copy all of our print files off of the network and put them directly onto the PC that is connected via USB to the printer. Since then, (knock on wood) we haven't experienced a freeze. My thinking is network delay causing crashes.
Back to top Find Quote
Offline Ford Prefect Posted 07-26-2012 - 07:11 AM
Post: #24
Member
27 Posts
Member

Onyx Version:
X10.1
Printer(s):
Canon, HP, Epson

I haven't been able to read through all the replies, but those of you having problems, have you checked your security software. If you disable all security scanners as well as any firewalls. Does the problem go away? Windows Firewall can at times block data being sent after X amount of data. Make sure port 9100 is open either in Windows Firewall or any other 3rd party security software.

Hope this helps.

The universe is a dangerous place. It's vitally important to know where your towel is.
Back to top Find Quote
Offline boxerbay Posted 12-10-2012 - 10:46 AM
Post: #25
Member
1 Posts
Member

Onyx Version:
colorburst
Printer(s):
epson gs6000

I have gone up and down trying to resolve this. The issue is that windows will not print a file larger than 4GB. It is not an ONYX issue. It is a windows spooler issue. The easiest way we work around it it if we see an 8 pass 1440x1440 rip setting that produces a file larger than 4gb we dont bother printing it as it will fail toward the end of the print causing a lot of waste. We just re-rip it using a 8 pass 720x720 rip setting. if that does not work we use 6 pass 540x720. eventually you will find a rip setting that rpoduces a file less than 4gb. also if there is more than you panel in your layout - split it in to two separate layouts. rip each one separately. we use colorburst and this is the only way to print large files that are 54" wide and 115" + long.

hope that helps someone from A LOT OF FRUSTRATION and wasted materials.
Back to top Find Quote


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Tiling problems on large jobs kellysigns 7 5,329 03-09-2015 06:55 AM
Last Post: Slush11
  Printer stops on large prints retsokr 1 1,103 03-12-2014 01:31 PM
Last Post: M@CK
  Cut Server EPOS error in large contour cut jobs kfinnn 0 1,203 08-05-2013 11:20 AM
Last Post: kfinnn
  Rip error - %%width size too large-reduce by 2%?????? jdigital 3 2,276 08-15-2008 07:09 AM
Last Post: Scott
  Unable to Print files over 4Gb large Walero 3 3,901 03-24-2008 10:12 AM
Last Post: Walero


User(s) browsing this thread
1 Guest(s)
myRepono - Website & mySQL Database Backup Service
Community software by MyBB