Welcome to OnyxTalk - Global Support Community, please Login or Create an account to get full access to the forums.
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Cut Contour

Offline fantasyprints Posted 07-17-2011 - 06:53 AM
Post: #1
Member
9 Posts
Member

Onyx Version:
7.3.2
Printer(s):
HP9000, HP5000, HPZ2100

Hi There

This is a two point question.

1) Is there any way to tell a file sent to onyx has the cut contour setup correctly? At the moment the only well I can tell is that the colour of the contour doesn't print but is there a way to see in the file in Production Manager.

2) This relates to above. If a file is printed and the contour isn't created the only way I can see to regenerate the contour is to print the file complete again even though all theat is missing is the data for CUT SERVER - is this correct?
Back to top Find Quote
Offline Scott Posted 07-17-2011 - 09:42 AM
Post: #2
OnyxTalk Admin
563 Posts
OnyxTalk Admin

Onyx Version:
N/A
Printer(s):
N/A

(07-17-2011 06:53 AM)fantasyprints Wrote:   Is there any way to tell a file sent to onyx has the cut contour setup correctly? At the moment the only well I can tell is that the colour of the contour doesn't print but is there a way to see in the file in Production Manager.

This has unfortunately been a complaint of mine since the beginning. There is no way to really view the actual cut path within production house, or even in preflight other than as you said, the color doesn't print, or isn't displayed in preflight. From what I understand the reason for this is because how/when Onyx has it detecting the cut path, which is when the file is printed. I can't tell you how many jobs I've had that I go to cut the file, and there is nothing in CutServer for it, only to find out there was a mispelling in the CutContour, or it just wasn't created, etc, etc.

I have suggested that it would be nice to have a button atleast within preflight that would be to "Detect Cut Paths" and it would do a quick process of the file and display where the cut paths are. Other than that the only real option that I'm aware of it opening the file in Illustrator or PrepEdge and inspecting it yourself.

(07-17-2011 06:53 AM)fantasyprints Wrote:  This relates to above. If a file is printed and the contour isn't created the only way I can see to regenerate the contour is to print the file complete again even though all that is missing is the data for CUT SERVER - is this correct?

You are basically correct because the XML file needed for CutServer isn't generated until the file is sent to print. If I remember correctly in 7.x version it didn't generate it till the very end, whereas now it generates is at the beginning of the print process. The best way I've found is to configure your printer to 'Print to File' so that when you send the job again you don't have to actually print the file, wasting ink and media. This will allow it to go through the motions of printing and generate the necessary file for CutServer. Just remember to change your configuration back before you send your next job.

It's annoying to have to do things this way, but that's the best way for now, that I'm aware of.

Scott Manwaring / Administrator
OnyxTalk.com - Global Support Community
Back to top WWW Find Quote
Offline fantasyprints Posted 07-17-2011 - 09:44 AM
Post: #3
Member
9 Posts
Member

Onyx Version:
7.3.2
Printer(s):
HP9000, HP5000, HPZ2100

Thanks for reply. Interested about printing to file hadn't thought about that. Will try next time it happens

Paul
Back to top Find Quote
Offline Scott Posted 07-17-2011 - 09:53 AM
Post: #4
OnyxTalk Admin
563 Posts
OnyxTalk Admin

Onyx Version:
N/A
Printer(s):
N/A

The biggest pain for me with the discussed issue is when I have a print with multiple jobs, with multiple copies nested (and cut paths of all different shapes). Because at that point you have to make sure that the nesting done by Onyx the second time matches the print exactly, which it doesn't always happen. You have to put your files back in the queue in just the right order for it to nest it the same as the first time.

Scott Manwaring / Administrator
OnyxTalk.com - Global Support Community
Back to top WWW Find Quote
Offline drs6222 Posted 09-27-2011 - 07:25 AM
Post: #5
Member
11 Posts
Member

Onyx Version:
10
Printer(s):
GS6000

I like how in Layout tool you can preview the cut line. But if you aren't using that program, you can't just import the print job.
Back to top Find Quote


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Contour Cutting Speedy Signs Albany 1 2,308 03-31-2016 08:33 AM
Last Post: Rsylke
  contour cutting AND workflow ADzif inc. 0 824 06-09-2015 06:29 AM
Last Post: ADzif inc.
  Contour cut skipping nodes neokraft 4 2,130 11-15-2013 09:30 AM
Last Post: neokraft
  Contour Cutting- Design in Photoshop? M.A.C. 1 5,104 09-18-2008 05:26 PM
Last Post: Scott


User(s) browsing this thread
1 Guest(s)
myRepono - Website & mySQL Database Backup Service
Community software by MyBB