Welcome to OnyxTalk - Global Support Community, please Login or Create an account to get full access to the forums.
 
Thread Rating:
  • 1 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Custom print sizes

Offline rdwarner Posted 02-18-2011 - 06:45 PM
Post: #1
Member
11 Posts
Member

Onyx Version:
7.2.0.59
Printer(s):
Canon iPF8100, Roland Hi-Fi Jet FJ-500, Encad 630

Our workflow to our three wide-format printers is via Ethernet from Mac and PC workstations to a ProductionHouse RIP-Queue installed on a PC server.

It works flawlessly, except for one time-consuming step in the process on Mac workstations. Because we print images and documents from a number of applications in a gazillion sizes requested by our customers, we nearly always have to create a custom page size in Print Setup before the file is sent off to the print server.

The problem is that newly created Custom Paper sizes are not added to the Paper Size list in any particular order. The newly created Paper Size may appear somewhere near the beginning, middle, or end of the list, and the list grows longer as new Custom Paper Sizes are added. The only solution I know of is to periodically go to Page Setup and delete bunches of them to make the list smaller.

Does anyone know of a way to establish any kind of order to this Page Size salad problem? It didn't exist in any of the earlier versions of ONYX RIPs we've had over the years.
Back to top Find Quote
Offline Scott Posted 02-18-2011 - 09:34 PM
Post: #2
OnyxTalk Admin
563 Posts
OnyxTalk Admin

Onyx Version:
N/A
Printer(s):
N/A

I explained in another post how to manually edit a media size in order to change the value to a number outside of the printers fixed capacity. In this exact same location you can manually swap the order of the lines as well...although there is a but. Here is the link to the instructions.

http://www.onyxtalk.com/thread-add-bigge...59#pid4059

If you follow the instructions in the above link you can simply switch the order of the lines and save the file, but unfortunately this will only get you half of what you need/want. By doing this you can change the order of the page sizes that appear in the page sizes tab under 'Configure Printer'. The downside I just noticed however is that when you select 'Change' on your printer and go to pick the page size from the drop down, it doesn't use the new custom order.

I will keep poking around and see if I can find any other settings that can be "hacked" to possibly get the results you're looking for. I'm sure it's obvious, but this is in no way and officially supported method of making changes. I've just found my own workarounds to fit some of my needs, such as putting all the input hot folders from 2 separate ProductionHouse installs in one location on a central server which all the machines in our office have access to via a permanent mapped drive.

Scott Manwaring / Administrator
OnyxTalk.com - Global Support Community
Back to top WWW Find Quote
Offline rdwarner Posted 02-19-2011 - 01:14 AM
Post: #3
Member
11 Posts
Member

Onyx Version:
7.2.0.59
Printer(s):
Canon iPF8100, Roland Hi-Fi Jet FJ-500, Encad 630

Scott,

Thank you for your quick response to my question.

My goal is not to create a custom page (roll) size in ProductionHouse (7.2), but to manage custom page sizes created in a Mac application's Print Setup prior to printing from Mac workstations via Ethernet to ProductionHouse.

For example, in order to print a 15x12.5 image from Photoshop on a Mac workstation to the Onyx RIP, and from there via Ethernet to a printer loaded with say a 24" roll of paper, a 15x12.5 Custom Paper Size must be created, and a media chosen, etc., in Photoshop's Print Setup, prior to printing the file via Ethernet to ProductionHouse's RIP-Queue.

However, the newly-created 15x12.5 Print Size must first be found and selected from an increasingly long unsorted list of previously created Custom Paper sizes in Photoshop's Print Setup. My question has to do with the design and function of Onyx's RIP's PPDs at the workstation application level.

I was hoping someone on this forum might know of a kludge to manage the sorting of this list of Custom Page Sizes in various applications' Print Setup.

Thanks,

Richard
Back to top Find Quote
Offline Scott Posted 02-19-2011 - 01:57 AM
Post: #4
OnyxTalk Admin
563 Posts
OnyxTalk Admin

Onyx Version:
N/A
Printer(s):
N/A

I gotcha now!

There may be others on here who can chime in (weekends are usually slow) and I will also ask someone in Onyx engineering.

In theory you could manually edit the PPD and possibly manipulate the order that way. I know you can open the PPD in a good text editor and see all the data, including the page sizes, but I couldn't tell you that will work for sure.

Scott Manwaring / Administrator
OnyxTalk.com - Global Support Community
Back to top WWW Find Quote
Offline rdwarner Posted 02-19-2011 - 04:37 PM
Post: #5
Member
11 Posts
Member

Onyx Version:
7.2.0.59
Printer(s):
Canon iPF8100, Roland Hi-Fi Jet FJ-500, Encad 630

Scott,

Thanks for your offer of help, but the source of my problem turned out to be between the keyboard and the floor!!!

The issue does exist, but the culprit appears to be the Mac OS X, not Onyx's PPD design. I found the following discussion of this problem at Apple Support. See: http://discussions.apple.com/thread.jspa...&tstart=45

Had I fully explored the problem further, I would have noticed that the drop-down unsorted list of custom page sizes can be opened regardless of the application or chosen printer.

Attached is a screen capture of Firefox's Print Setup displaying the drop-down list of custom print sizes.

The reason that our earlier versions of the Onyx RIP didn't exhibit this problem is because at that time our Mac workstations ran on OS 9.xx, in which custom page sizes, once created, remain linked to the file in the usual way.

It still annoying, but I've not yet found a fix (except Windows, of course).

Again, many thanks,

Richard


Attached File(s) Thumbnail(s)
   
Back to top Find Quote
Offline Scott Posted 02-19-2011 - 06:06 PM
Post: #6
OnyxTalk Admin
563 Posts
OnyxTalk Admin

Onyx Version:
N/A
Printer(s):
N/A

Well I have to say, you weren't joking about having a LONG list of custom page sizes =)

Scott Manwaring / Administrator
OnyxTalk.com - Global Support Community
Back to top WWW Find Quote
Offline rdwarner Posted 02-20-2011 - 12:07 PM
Post: #7
Member
11 Posts
Member

Onyx Version:
7.2.0.59
Printer(s):
Canon iPF8100, Roland Hi-Fi Jet FJ-500, Encad 630

That's just the beginning of the accursed page size salad. The rest of it wouldn't fit in a screen shot.

Cheers, Richard
Back to top Find Quote
Offline jonkovach Posted 02-21-2011 - 05:10 AM
Post: #8
Administrator
320 Posts
Administrator

Onyx Version:
X11
Printer(s):
HP z6100, Mimaki JV33-160, HP Latex 370

I used to set up custom page sizes for everything we printed, too. It was a severe headache, and I know where you're coming from!!

However, I started outputting to PDFs (which don't require page sizes), and copying PDFs to quicksets/hot folders to get them onto the RIP... This was the best solution that I could find.

Have you considered going this route? It's a huge time-saver, plus if you have to reprint something that is not on the RIP anymore, you don't have to go through the hassle of loading the native files, and re-outputting... just drop the PDF back on the RIP.

Jon

He who limps is still walking.
~Stanislaw J. Lec

Back to top Find Quote
Offline MarcoRoos Posted 02-23-2011 - 12:42 AM
Post: #9
Frequent Flyer
222 Posts
Frequent Flyer

Onyx Version:
ALL
Printer(s):
ALL

hi guys,

why don't you use the following method:
1. Go "Edit QuickSets" in RIP Queue
2. Go to the Postscript File tab
3. Tick the "Only use bounding box" option
4. In the printer driver select the largest page size available
5. Select the default quickset
6. Print

Voila.....(that's French....;-))

RIPQueu will automatically crop the file to the bounding box (which is your document size setting in the application your print from). In RIPQueue you select the roll size which you've loaded into the printer.
Back to top WWW Find Quote
Offline rdwarner Posted 02-23-2011 - 03:00 PM
Post: #10
Member
11 Posts
Member

Onyx Version:
7.2.0.59
Printer(s):
Canon iPF8100, Roland Hi-Fi Jet FJ-500, Encad 630

(02-21-2011 05:10 AM)jonkovach Wrote:  I used to set up custom page sizes for everything we printed, too. It was a severe headache, and I know where you're coming from!!

However, I started outputting to PDFs (which don't require page sizes), and copying PDFs to quicksets/hot folders to get them onto the RIP... This was the best solution that I could find.

Have you considered going this route? It's a huge time-saver, plus if you have to reprint something that is not on the RIP anymore, you don't have to go through the hassle of loading the native files, and re-outputting... just drop the PDF back on the RIP.

Jon


Jon,

I haven't tried that, but I will.

It's been quite a while since used "drag and drop" to send our files to the RIP. In our workflow of earlier versions of the Qnyx RIP, I edited the PPD files of our various printers in a text editor, saved them to floppy disks, and provided them to our customers so they could install them on their computers using the "Add Printer" routine.

They could then "print to file" from whatever applications they had to create a PostScript file that we could then drop into the RIP. However, it was a process that many of our customers found daunting.

Acrobat was designed by Adobe to take the place of PostScript, but back then it was not quite ready for prime time, as it is now.

Thanks for your suggestion. I'll have go at it.

Richard
(02-23-2011 12:42 AM)MarcoRoos Wrote:  hi guys,

why don't you use the following method:
1. Go "Edit QuickSets" in RIP Queue
2. Go to the Postscript File tab
3. Tick the "Only use bounding box" option
4. In the printer driver select the largest page size available
5. Select the default quickset
6. Print

Voila.....(that's French....;-))

RIPQueu will automatically crop the file to the bounding box (which is your document size setting in the application your print from). In RIPQueue you select the roll size which you've loaded into the printer.


I haven't experimented with the Only Use Bounding Box option in my QuickSets, but doesn't it require that a page size be created in the application's Page Setup at the workstation prior to printing it to Rip-Queue?

My problem is creating custom print page sizes in Page Setup on a Mac OS 10.3xxx. The custom sizes don't remain associated with the individual file, but instead are added to an ever-expanding unsorted list of previously created custom print sizes.

Thanks,

Richard
(This post was last modified: 02-23-2011 03:38 PM by rdwarner.)
Back to top Find Quote
Offline walter_cfl Posted 02-24-2011 - 01:21 AM
Post: #11
Member
55 Posts
Member

Onyx Version:
X11, X12
Printer(s):
Latex, UV, LED-UV

"My problem is creating custom print page sizes in Page Setup on a Mac OS 10.3xxx."

Then don't create it, just use the largest standard page size, or created 1 big custom page size for all print jobs.

Let the RIP handle the auto cropping for you like what marco recommended.
Back to top Find Quote
Offline rdwarner Posted 02-13-2015 - 05:24 PM
Post: #12
Member
11 Posts
Member

Onyx Version:
7.2.0.59
Printer(s):
Canon iPF8100, Roland Hi-Fi Jet FJ-500, Encad 630

After struggling forever to find a newly-created custom page size from the ever-growing list of unsorted page sizes, I learned what works is to just enter the page size, for example "42x15.75", by just typing "42x15.75" on the keyboard while the entire list is displayed, and the desired size will be highlighted...then just hit <Enter> and you're there.

I knew this worked with lists in other programs, but for some reason it never occurred to me to try it in this instance. To make matters worse, a customer, and a young customer at that, suggested that I try it. ...duh!!!

Richard
Back to top Find Quote


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Custom pages sizes changing to A0 Print 4 Andy 0 457 12-16-2015 06:00 AM
Last Post: Print 4 Andy
  Back to Custom Spot Colors palnudb 3 2,074 03-13-2009 04:00 PM
Last Post: PageOne
  Custom Spot Color Instructions palnudb 2 2,078 03-04-2009 01:37 PM
Last Post: palnudb


User(s) browsing this thread
1 Guest(s)
myRepono - Website & mySQL Database Backup Service
Community software by MyBB